What age or weight can a child use a booster seat?
Category: Diet and Exercise
At what age/weight is it okay for a child not to use a carseat or booster seat?, I have a 3.5 year old and we're out of room for car seats! When can we move him?!
google your state laws pertaining to seating a child
What is the age & weight minimum for a child in California not to be required to use a booster seat?,
According to the California Highway Patrol website, www.chp.ca.gov, it's 6 years OR 60 pounds.
What is the weight/height/age requirement for a child to use a booster seat instead of a car seat?,
Laws vary, depending upon where you live. Generally, children ages 4 through 8 who are less than 4 feet, 9 inches tall are required to ride in a belt-positioning booster seat, located in the rear seat (if available). Previously, children ages 4 and older were not required to be in a booster seat. Seats are designed only for children up to 100 pounds.
These links should help.
What the weight and age limit on a child booster seat.?, My daughter 2 and half be 3 in may and 35 pound.
Most experts give a *minimum* recommendation for moving a child up to a booster at 4yrs and 40 pounds. Every step 'up' in carseats is a step down in safety... that is why racecar drivers *still* use a five point harness when they race.
Keep her in that forward facing carseat in the rear of your vehicle till she outgrows it by weight or height. Then consider getting a seat that will let her harness *longer* and then turn into a booster. The Graco Nautilus is cheaper than most and recommended by many experts... it harnesses to 65 pounds.
Don't worry as much about the state law as what are the *best practices* recommended by car seat experts. They will keep your child much safer!
Here are a couple of good links to expert sites backing up this info:
Booster seat buying guide w/safety info: http://www.cpsafety.com/articles/Booster...
Homepage to that site (lots to browse and learn!): http://www.cpsafety.com/default.aspx
Carseat FAQ: http://www.car-safety.org/faq.html
Hope that helps!
What is the age & weight when a child no longer has to ride in a car seat or a booster seat???, According to the state of Oklahoma
at least 4 years old AND 40 lbs.
What are the age and weight requirements for a child to use a booster carseat?, What age or weight does a child have to be to use a booster type carseat with just a regular seat belt? My daughter is 33 months old and weighs between 35-40 pounds, I worry that just a regular seatbelt might not protect her as well as a 5 point harness would? Any input or suggestions?
The laws differ from state to state but you should keep your daughter in a 5 point harness as long as possible. If she is reaching the weight limit for her seat, a good choice is the Britax Marathon. It has a high weight limit and will keep her safer than a booster seat. I think Britax recommends a 5 point harness until at least age 6.
At what age does a child need to start riding in a booster seat verses a regular car seat? Height and weight?,
It varies according to the manufacturers of the booster seats.
If you go to the store to look at them, they will have it printed somewhere on the box.
At what age/weight can a child safely ride in the car without a booster seat?,
children should remain in booster seats until they're taller than 4 feet 9 inches and weigh more than 80 pounds. They should use the boosters until they're tall enough for their knees to bend over the edge of the seat while their backs are resting firmly against the seat back. states have different laws about how long a child should remain in a booster seat, but 4' 9" or more than 80 pounds is when it is safe according to the CDC and the NHTSA (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration)
What age/weight does a child need be to stop using a car seat?, I want to know if my child has outgrown their booster seat.
Itdoes vary from state to state. In California it is 60lbs or 6 years old. I work at a public Health department and I am in the car seat safety program.
what is the age/weight a child can be before they go from car seat to booster?,
In most states the booster seat is for children who are 4 years of age and/or 40 pounds. Check with your local law enforcement re what is required in your state.blog comments powered by Disqus